Showing posts with label blogging. Show all posts
Showing posts with label blogging. Show all posts

Wednesday, September 23, 2009

I Leave You With This...

This newlywed is saying goodbye.

As you all well know, I've been a bit like splattered raindrops lately. It's trickey, really, but this belle and her beau are going through some major life changes. Even though I'm an undomesticated newlywed and will likely never be a MckMama, I do have other tricks up my sleeve. Writing has always been my #1 passion, although I thoroughly love all things fluffy, fashionable and famous, I am not fully satisfied sassified and that makes Jane Anna a very dull girl.

Starting this blog was one of the best misadventures of a newlywed and I don't regret even one post. Being Brazen, I'll just tell you that this chapter of my life is over. Of course while this decision is indefinitely definite, I'm pretty sure it's what I need to do to pursue my dreams. While it seems I'll always be learning to be a wife and it's pretty obvious I'll never be a sassy engineer, which means I do need to open the doors that are knocking, so this prep-e girl is out of here.

Despite your good guesses, I'm not off to be a chic runner, a pink chick or a monogram chick and while the choice I've made is not a housewife's journey to forever or a charge to be thou a knight, it is does cause me to say that I must let go laughing as there are some really great things on the horizon. Of course, I could choose to become a cocaine princess or a preppy princess and really be classy and fabulous, but just ask wifey, I don't think I fit the bill ;0)

This journey I've taken going from Miss to Mrs has been a bit like running in stilettos and at times I thought it may lead me to be a Vodka-puppy mom, but instead my blog sometimes reads like I'm in the sweet tea diaries of a misplaced northerner {someone should grab that title!} floating on in the adventures of Jon and Steph, except we're Dan and Anna, we're as different as a Hokie and a Wahoo and well, let's face it... just make mine a mojito.

As the saying goes... First comes love, then comes marriage and whelp! marriage has come. It's time for me to pull up my boot straps and get serious with my writing if I ever want a future in it. You see, I've been miss caught up with miss e's misadventures, Courtney and the boys and Jenny.Lee! These amazing blogs will be tremendously missed and the footprints they've left on my heart, not easily wiped away, for I will always ...love Maegan, adore blue eyed bride, and miss saskia's spot. Seriously! Withdraw may cause me to see polka dots and paisleys!!

But don't be too dismayed, you'll still be able to follow my Tales from the country Salti roads Peaks -- You can read my writing HERE and still get your fix. As sad as this is for me, all good things must come to an end, true? This is the reality of happily ever after, isn't it?

*****************************************

I hope you enjoyed that... it's been stirring in me a few days.

While blogging truly has been one of the greatest adventures of my life, it's time for me to buckle down and really write like I know I'm supposed to. Some of you may be wondering why I can't do both... Ever heard of "Jack of all trades, Master of none?" -- When I visit blog land I get so consumed with all of said above blogs; reading, commenting, responding, etc... by the time I'm finished, I find the passion I had to write fades for one reason or another. It's time to focus.

Like I said, I'll be writing here if you care to stop in from time to time... This is a place where I can write without worrying about followers, comments or criticism; I can focus solely on practicing my writing. With this, I've decided not to write my first book using modern day technology. I have pen and paper in hand and have been 'kickin' it old school'. I find the words flow more freely and I'm not able to edit what I originally felt.

I wish nothing but the best for each of you who've inspired me with your stories, touched me with your encouragement and uplifted my spirit with your wisdom, insight and sensitivities. I will likely be a "blog stalker" {I forget what that's officially called} when I need a good laugh or cry.

So much love to each of you my dear friends...

Thursday, August 7, 2008

Thursday Mornings

As I stood on our sidewalk, watching my husband power wash our back porch at what I thought was an insane hour, I thought to myself there has to be something humorous about this -- there wasn't -- It really was 9:42 p.m. and Dan really was power washing our back porch and I really did work 9-5 and he really did, too -- and by the looks of Rebel, our German Shepard, sleeping in the grass, he had, too -- We really were crazy... I just knew it --

As my thoughts drifted from wondering if there was anything I could laugh about, to the fact that neither of us had eaten, to what in the hell are we doing, I realized that I wouldn't get to spend my Thursday morning on our oasis of a back porch and write my blog entry for the week -- You see, Dan didn't think that 3,000 sq. ft. was enough house for the two of us, so we added our back porch... well, that clearly wasn't enough either, so we now have two more additions to that --

The top addition is stamped concrete and as construction would have it (and maybe some really inconsiderate morons) there was cement dust all over everything on our back porch, including the screens -- To make matters worse, it rained before we could clean it all up... Yeah, what do you get when you mix water and cement? Concrete. We didn't think too much about it until Dan went outside (two days later) around 7 to wipe down the screens (and only the screens) and realized it wasn't coming off -- 3 hours later everything was outside (including the carpet) being power washed -- We bleached, we scrubbed, we broomed, we did everything but set fire to it all and it wasn't. coming. off. -- There was the part of me (the evil, crazy part) that was like this is so ridiculous and then the other part of me (the angelic, perfect part) that was like you know, this is why I married this man --

I hear women all the time talking about their men (which I don't remember owning Dan) and how they can't get them to get off the couch to eat dinner, never mind clean something -- I don't have that problem -- I can't get Dan to sit down... he is constantly going and if I sit still for one minute, I'll miss whatever just happened in the whirlwind of his life --

Truth be told, this was one of the thousand reasons I married him -- I knew he was a hard worker and would always do what it took to make things happen -- At 9:42 p.m., this blessing looked like a curse, but how could I complain now about one of the qualities that caused me to fall in love with him -- I mean, seriously, we could be a normal couple lying on the couch watching TV... but I wouldn't give up the memory of us wiping screens down and scrubbing outdoor furniture while the owls watched for anything --

It's easy to forget all the great qualities of your spouse -- specifically when you're drenched from head to toe, brooming water off your porch at 10 o'clock at night --Sometimes I think he's crazy and yeah, I had to give up my Thursday morning on the back porch, but Dan is the love of my life and I wouldn't trade our craziness for the world --